Thing #7: Content Saving & Sharing

For Thing #7, I chose to write about a different app for content saving and sharing. I’ve used Pinterest quite a bit, but it isn’t my favorite way to save information (it’s more of a black hole for me). I also use bitly, but just to shorten links.

Icon for Pocket AppPocket

My all-time favorite app for saving and sharing content is Pocket. I actually use it as more of a short-term holding spot for content. I send anything that I want to remember to read or look at later to Pocket. When I have time, or am on my computer rather than my tiny iPhone screen. From Pocket, I can share content with different social networks, send them to different storage places (like Evernote!), bookmark them on my home computer, or take them out of my to-be-read list.

Here’s their official blurb:

Pocket was founded in 2007 by Nate Weiner to help people save interesting articles, videos and more from the web for later enjoyment. Once saved to Pocket, the list of content is visible on any device — phone, tablet or computer. It can be viewed while waiting in line, on the couch, during commutes or travel — even offline.

The world’s leading save-for-later service currently has more than 10 million registered users and is integrated into more than 500 apps including Flipboard, Twitter and Zite. It is available for major devices and platforms including iPad, iPhone, Android, Mac, Kindle Fire, Kobo, Google Chrome, Safari, Firefox, Opera and Windows.

Here’s what Pocket looks like on my iPad. First, we have the home screen, which is a list of everything I’ve saved in the order I’ve saved it. Some apps allow me to save content directly. Otherwise, you can copy a link, open Pocket, and it will prompt you to add it. If you’re on a computer, you can add an extension that allows you to send pages directly to Pocket. As long as you occasionally open Pocket to let it sync and download new content, you will be able to read your articles even when you aren’t connected to the Internet.

20140220-151159.jpg

I tap on an article to read it. By default, the article opens up in an easy-reading mode instead of taking me to the original source. In this example, it looks like I saved this article from Twitter. You can see the original St. Kate’s MLIS tweet at the top of the screen. I can reply, retweet, or favorite the original tweet.

sample article in Pocket

I really like how Pocket can pull just the article text for you. Once an article is in Pocket, you can choose between a serif or sans-serif font, and adjust the size, page color, and brightness.

example of font settings for Pocket articles

Once you are done reading, Pocket has almost any option available to share the content. The most popular show up on the first tap. If you click more, a whole list of apps and websites will show up (more than the list shown in the screenshot below).

20140220-151218.jpg

partial list of apps/sites Pocket can share content withThat’s Pocket! As long as you don’t forget to check Pocket for several months because you’re too busy with work and school and holidays, thus leaving you with three months worth of links to work through (not that I’ve ever done this), it works wonderfully.

Leave a Reply

