Thing 16: Audio

Thing 16 is about apps that let you record and share audio.

Audioboo

Audioboo is a very basic, easy-to-use app. The 23 Mobile Things description said Audioboo allowed 3 minutes of recording time, so I was pleasantly surprised to see I could record for 10 minutes. Apparently, this is a recent change.

You can also edit recording and cut out unwanted sections after recording, which seems very helpful to me. However, the first time I tried this, I mixed up their directions and ended up deleted all of my good recording and keeping the small, unwanted chunk.

I wasn’t going to share my final product, but why not? Here I am reading part of a book review I had previously written about Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments.

I feel less inspired by the audio apps compared with the video apps. We (the Internet? society?) seem to very centered on the visual, so I don’t see a lot of use for audio-only content in a public library or academic library. I know another 23 Things participant mentioned they a different audio app (Voice Record Pro 7)  to record and archive staff meetings for those who couldn’t make it. I also think it is good to remember these in case anyone is looking for a way to take audio notes, etc. Oh, and these would be great for patrons interested in collecting oral histories as part of their genealogy/family history work. Actually, that is a great use for these apps, now that I think about it.

However, I do see more uses in the classroom or with kids. I especially liked the audio book reviews example used by this school that the 23 Things people shared:

Leave a Reply

