ILI Around the Web

There were a couple of recent articles around the Web that seemed relevant to information literacy instruction, so I thought I’d share them here:

Letters to a Young Librarian: Bringing My Teaching Philosophy Into Focus

Last week, I wrote about the importance of having a clear understanding of your teaching persona/philosophy, and how I still felt like I hadn’t nailed down my own teaching identity yet. Jessica Olin, of the Letters to a Young Librarian blog, posted “Bringing My Teaching Philosophy Into Focus” which recaps Neil Haave’s “Six Questions That Will Bring Your Teaching Philosophy Into Focus.” Olin goes through the Haave’s questions herself. I found it very instructive to see how she answered, specifically in an ILI context. I’m sharing this in case it’s useful to anyone else, and also to remind myself to work through the questions myself someday.

(Side note: you should definitely check out Letters to a Young Librarian and add it to your RSS reader or whatever method you use to keep up with information. As an MLIS student, I’ve found the content of this blog is incredibly useful or relevant, and often oddly timely for whatever it is I happen to be studying.)

ECAR Study of Undergraduate Students and Information Technology, 2014

The Educase Center for Analysis and Research just released the results from their 2014 survey of how undergraduate students relate to and use information and communications technology. A few interesting points from the survey:

  • Technology is “omnipresent” in students lives
  • Several technologies students want their instructors to use more include lecture capture, early-alert systems, and freely available course content
  • Technologies students wish their instructors would use less: Social media (as a learning tool) and e-portfolios
  • Most undergraduate students say they learn best with a blend of online and face-to-face content

And one final thought:

“We know from looking at longitudinal data from past student studies that students still have a complex relationship with technology; they recognize its value, but they still need guidance when it comes to using technology in meaningful and engaging ways for academics. Students are still ready to use their mobile devices more for academics, but we haven’t yet seen widespread application of this” (5).

Leave a Reply

