A Pause in the Maker Journey…To Write About Beekeeping

I’m currently at ALA and realized I hadn’t written a blog post for this week. I haven’t been able to attend in Maker-themed sessions (yet!), so I thought I’d write about a maker project my parents have started this summer.

Beekeeping 101

After reading about disappearing bees and the potential effects on the environment, they decided to try out beekeeping this summer. They took some classes offered to community members by the University of Minnesota Bee Lab and bought supplies and bees for both mason bees (solitary, local bees) and honey bees.

photo-apr-03-9-29-54-pm
Modeling their new beekeeping wear.

They’ve been rather gleefully sharing photos and news of their project along the way. The first time I saw them after they received the bees, they pulled out the phones and showed me pictures of their queen bee as though they were showing off pictures of a beloved pet or child.

photo-may-09-10-53-17-am
Can you find the queen bee?

They’re learning a lot along the way. The mason bees unfortunately flew away, but my parents partnered with their local apple orchard for their honeybees. Their hives are located at the apple orchard, and the apple orchard benefits from additional pollinators.

photo-may-19-11-07-09-am
From the day they set up the honey bee hives. I believe they’re pretending to be attacked by bees

Prior to this class, I had never thought about this project in terms of the maker movement. However, when I was tweeting about my parents’ project, Dr. Molaro connected it to this class. Even though class hadn’t started yet, this really widened my perception of what making is.

Sadly, I haven’t visited the bees myself yet. I’m hoping to get a chance to before the end of the season.

Critical Makerspaces

I found a few more links for critical makerspaces since last week. First, I remembered Bohyun Kim gave a fascinating keynote at the Library Technology Conference in March. A lot of what she talks about relates to makerspaces and libraries. Here are links to the slideshare, script, and recording of ‘Libraries Meet the Second Machine Age’.

Bohyun Kim has also written an article called Biohackerspace, DIYbio, and Libraries on the ACRL TechConnect blog. There aren’t any library biohackerspaces yet. I wonder who will be first?

Finally, I found this zine on feminist hackerspaces: Feminist Hackerspaces: Hacking Culture Not Devices.

This post was originally published on the St. Kate MLIS WordPress website.

Leave a Reply

